This is a photo of the 2019 COC banner

Champion of Children Award Dinner

November 14, 2019

HONOREES – Jessica and Dirk Nowitzki

GUEST SPEAKER – Judge Rosemarie Aquilina

EVENT CO-CHAIRS – Janice and Richard Davis, Hannah and Greg May, Virginia and Edward Schaefer


Dallas CASA will honor Jessica and Dirk Nowitzki with the Judge Barefoot Sanders Champion of Children Award for their ongoing commitment to making the lives of children better. Since the very beginning of Dirk Nowitzki’s long and storied Dallas Mavericks career, his Dirk Nowitzki Foundation has awarded millions to help disadvantaged children. Since his retirement earlier this year, Dirk and his wife have continued their involvement and investment in the community’s children.

The Champion of Children Award dinner raises funds for Dallas CASA. All proceeds are used to support the volunteer advocates who help abused children find safe, permanent and loving homes. The award is named in honor of Judge Harold Barefoot Sanders, the revered United States District Court judge for the Northern District of Texas, a past award recipient and a steadfast supporter of children.

Guest speaker for the evening is Judge Rosemarie Aquilina, the Michigan circuit court judge who allowed more than 150 abuse survivors to testify in court against former USA Gymnastics team doctor Larry Nassar. Aquilina gained national attention for providing time and space for victims to speak publicly prior to Nassar’s sentencing as well as her tough talk to Nassar in the courtroom. “Your decision to assault was precise, calculated, manipulated, devious and despicable,” she said from the bench. “And I want you to know, as much as it was my honor and privilege to hear the survivors, it is my honor and privilege to sentence you. Because, sir, you do not deserve to walk outside of a prison ever again.”

To learn more about the 2019 Champion of Children Award Dinner or underwriting opportunities, please contact Michelle Mai, 469-547-9456 or email.

We are grateful to our 2019 Champion of Children Award Dinner underwriters:

Exxon Mobil Corporation

Pioneer Natural Resources
Linda and Rob Swartz

The Hirsch Family Foundation
The Hoglund Foundation
Kay and Bob Schleckser

Comerica Bank
Morgan Lewis

Suzanne McCarron and Robert Andrews / Ricki and Randy Ebner / Margaret and Jaime Spellings
Suzanne Bryan
CB Choi Family Foundation
Retta Miller / Jackson Walker L.L.P.
Paula and Scott Orr
Texas Instruments
The Yotides Family

Champion of Children past honorees:

2018 The Meadows Foundation 2008 The Hoglund Foundation
2017 Junior League of Dallas 2006 Archon Group, L.P.
2016 NorthPark Center 2005 Todd Wagner
2015 AT&T and its employees 2004 The Hon. Thomas R. Phillips
2014 Pioneer Natural Resources and its employees 2003 The Hon. Harold Barefoot Sanders
2013 Jan and Trevor Rees-Jones 2002 J. McDonald “Don” Williams
2012 ExxonMobil and its employees and retirees 2001 Tom Luce
2011 Southwest Airlines 2000 Paul Coggins
2010 Nancy A. Nasher 1999 The Hon. Florence Shapiro
2009 The Hon. Harriet O’Neill  1998 The Hon. Lee F. Jackson


Share Online:

Dallas CASA logo_color_small

Thank you for registering for a Dallas CASA information session.

You will receive an email confirmation with additional information within 24 business hours.

CASA ACCW_blue text