This is a photo of the Dallas CASA web banner

Training & Supervision

Training

Dallas CASA thoroughly trains its volunteers to be the best possible advocates for abused and neglected children. Our volunteers complete a 30-hour training program which covers topics such as Dynamics of Child Abuse and Neglect, Advocate Responsibilities, Family Violence, Cultural Competence, Permanency Planning, Accessing Services and Court Proceedings. All classes must be completed for a volunteer to graduate and be sworn in by the court as a CASA volunteer.

Volunteer trainees are advised to complete the training classes consecutively and in one training session, however, we realize this is not always possible for everyone’s schedules.  A trainee is asked to attend the first two training classes consecutively, then if classes are missed afterward,  make-up classes can be scheduled with the training manager.  If schedules accommodate, 1-2 classes can be made up before the class swearing in ceremony.  If more classes are needed, trainees can take classes in more than one training session until all classes are completed.

Until our offices reopen and we are able to provide in-person training, we will offer the training classes online through LearnUpon plus independent study pre-work for each online class. Instructions for access will be sent to trainees with their acceptance confirmations.


2022 Training Schedule

February Evening Training
Application deadline is Wednesday, January 19

Orientation: Tuesday, February 1, 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Chapter 1 Thursday, February 3 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 2 Monday, February 7 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 3 Thursday, February 10 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 4 Tuesday, February 15 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 5 Thursday, February 17 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 6 Tuesday, February 22 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 7 Thursday, February 24 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 8 Monday, February 28 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, March 11, 2022


April Evening Training
Application deadline is Wednesday, March 16

Orientation: Wednesday, March 30, 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Chapter 1 Monday, April 4 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 2 Thursday, April 7 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 3 Monday, April 11 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 4 Thursday, April 14 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 5 Monday, April 18 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 6 Thursday, April 21 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 7 Monday, April 25 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 8 Thursday, April 28 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, May 6, 2022

Supervision

After completing training, Dallas CASA volunteers are teamed with a CASA staff supervisor. On average, our supervisors each have more than 15 years of experience in child welfare or a related field. Supervisors provide support and guidance to volunteers throughout their cases and are always present during court hearings.

Continuing Education

In order to keep current with issues that relate to the volunteer role, our volunteers are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. There are various ways to accumulate continuing education hours. We provide recommendations and information about classes, webinars, podcasts, documentaries, books, conferences and lectures available online or in the Dallas area. Learn more.


Dallas CASA logo_color_small

Thank you for registering for a Dallas CASA information session.

You will receive an email confirmation with additional information within 24 business hours.

CASA ACCW_blue text