This is a photo of the Dallas CASA web banner

Training & Supervision

Training

Dallas CASA thoroughly trains its volunteers to be the best possible advocates for abused and neglected children. Our volunteers complete a 30-hour training program which covers topics such as Dynamics of Child Abuse and Neglect, Advocate Responsibilities, Family Violence, Cultural Competence, Permanency Planning, Accessing Services and Court Proceedings. All classes must be completed for a volunteer to graduate and be sworn in by the court as a CASA volunteer.

Volunteer trainees are advised to complete the training classes consecutively and in one training session, however, we realize this is not always possible for everyone’s schedules.  A trainee is asked to attend the first two training classes consecutively, then if classes are missed afterward,  make-up classes can be scheduled with the training manager.  If schedules accommodate, 1-2 classes can be made up before the class swearing in ceremony.  If more classes are needed, trainees can take classes in more than one training session until all classes are completed.

Until our offices reopen and we are able to provide in-person training, we will offer the training classes online through LearnUpon plus independent study pre-work for each online class. Instructions for access will be sent to trainees with their acceptance confirmations.


2022 Training Schedule

May Evening Training
Application deadline is Wednesday, April 13

Orientation: Wednesday, April 27, 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Chapter 1 Monday, May 2 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 2 Wednesday, May 4 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 3 Monday, May 9 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 4 Thursday, May 12 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 5 Monday, May 16 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 6 Thursday, May 19 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 7 Monday, May 23 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 8 Thursday, May 26 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, June 3, 2022


June Evening Training
Application deadline is Wednesday, May 11

Orientation: Wednesday, May 25, 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Chapter 1 Tuesday, May 31 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 2 Thursday, June 2 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 3 Tuesday, June7 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 4 Thursday, June 9 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 5 Monday, June 13 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 6 Thursday, June 16 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 7 Monday, June 20 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 8 Thursday, June 23 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, July 1, 2022


July Evening Training
Application deadline is Wednesday, June 8

Orientation: Wednesday, June 22, 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Chapter 1 Monday, June 27 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 2 Thursday, June 30 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 3 Tuesday, July 5 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 4 Thursday, July 7 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 5 Monday, July 11 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 6 Thursday, July 14 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 7 Monday, July 18 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.
Chapter 8 Thursday, July 21 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, July 29, 2022

Supervision

After completing training, Dallas CASA volunteers are teamed with a CASA staff supervisor. On average, our supervisors each have more than 15 years of experience in child welfare or a related field. Supervisors provide support and guidance to volunteers throughout their cases and are always present during court hearings.

Continuing Education

In order to keep current with issues that relate to the volunteer role, our volunteers are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. There are various ways to accumulate continuing education hours. We provide recommendations and information about classes, webinars, podcasts, documentaries, books, conferences and lectures available online or in the Dallas area. Learn more.


Dallas CASA logo_color_small

Thank you for registering for a Dallas CASA information session.

You will receive an email confirmation with additional information within 24 business hours.

CASA ACCW_blue text