header6

"The constant thought that runs through my head is that, although we can’t change a child’s past, we can change their future. We can show them that adults can be trusted and remind them that they aren’t to blame for what happened to them. And we can teach them that someone cares about each of them.”

~ Sandra S, Dallas CASA volunteer since 2002

Training & Supervision

Training

Dallas CASA thoroughly trains its volunteers to be the best possible advocates for abused and neglected children. Our volunteers complete a 30-hour training program which covers topics such as Dynamics of Child Abuse and Neglect, Advocate Responsibilities, Family Violence, Cultural Competence, Permanency Planning, Accessing Services and Court Proceedings. All classes must be completed for a volunteer to graduate and be sworn in by the court as a CASA volunteer.

Volunteer trainees are advised to complete the training classes consecutively and in one training session, however, we realize this is not always possible for everyone’s schedules.  A trainee is asked to attend the first two training classes consecutively, then if classes are missed afterward,  make-up classes can be scheduled with the training manager.  If schedules accommodate, 1-2 classes can be made up before the class swearing in ceremony.  If more classes are needed, trainees can take classes in more than one training session until all classes are completed.

2019 Training Schedule

January Evening Training 
Application deadline is December 14

Tuesday January 8 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Thursday January 10 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday January 15 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Thursday January 17 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday January 22 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Thursday January 24 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday January 29 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Thursday January 31 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, February 8


January II Evening Training 
Application deadline is December 14

Wednesday January 16 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday January 23 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Monday January 28 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday January 30 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Monday February 4 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday February 6 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Monday February 11 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday February 13 5:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, February 22


February Day Training
Application deadline is January 22

Monday February 4 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Friday February 8 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Tuesday February 12 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Thursday February 14 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Tuesday February 19 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Thursday February 21 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Monday February 25 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Wednesday February 27 9:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Friday, March 8


Supervision

After completing training, Dallas CASA volunteers are teamed with a CASA staff supervisor. On average, our supervisors each have more than 15 years of experience in child welfare or a related field. Supervisors provide support and guidance to volunteers throughout their cases and are always present during court hearings.

Continuing Education
In order to keep current with issues that relate to the volunteer role, our volunteers are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education per year. There are various ways to accumulate continuing education hours. We will provide recommendations and information about conferences, seminars and lectures in the Dallas area. Learn more.